Secrets of Fatherhood

20 Apr

disclaimer
I have been a father for 20 months and has been a fantastic time – most of the time ;-). The times when it has no been is when I felt that I could not interact with why son, whether to play, calm or be firm. Stephen is just entering toddlership and is really only beginning to engage with me. Now I have begun to wonder; what are the secrets of fatherhood; are their any? Well these are my thoughts from my point of view as a father to a really cool son:

dad-and-stephen-with-guitars1.  The father that says he knows it all does not. The one that claims to know everything is missing a lot.
2.  There is no hard and fast rule – kids are little human beings with a Will and their own interpretation of life, rules and dealing with situations.
3.  My Son is looking for more than friendship, he is looking for a strong hand to show him way and be there when he needs me.
4.  I can’t always be there, so I need to prepare him for that.
5.  Time is everything. I don’t want to be a weekend father, then I will have a weekend son and I don’t want that.

fistbump6.  Everything is a learning opportunity but don’t forget to break for fun. Especially for my little one.
7.  The expensive toys might be cool, but the most ridiculous and free may be way way way better
8.  My son is not my opportunity to fix my faults.
9 . It is ok if my son does not turn out to be the next gold medalist for a sport’s discipline, let him have fun while he is young and just guide him.
10. Affirmation and praise without bias. That is when he has tried and failed as well as when he has succeeded. Encouragement.

What are some of the secrets that you apply to fatherhood or motherhood?

Spread the Word and Share


muti

twitter

digg

stumble

reddit

delicious

technorati

facebook
4 Responses to “Secrets of Fatherhood”

  1. Ron April 21, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    That looks like a very good list! I would be pressed to come up with more than: My girls are my Princesses and I just want to be their Super hero.

    • Phillip Gibb April 21, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

      be pressed dude.
      I held back on a few that I am hoping to hear from other people 😉
      no it is not a quiz.
      also u can disagree or amplify 😉

  2. Mike April 21, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    How about:

    Hang his art in a prominent spot.

    Invest time in him – Play, Play, Play.

    Show and tell him how much you love his mother – team up to spoil her now and again.

    Involve him in family decisions – and make his opinions count.

    Read the fathering books, but trust your own intuition.

    Go fishing.

    • Phillip Gibb April 21, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

      Show and tell him how much you love his mother

      I like that one 🙂
      set a good example in the primary relationship because there he’ll find stability and there he will that the lead when he grows up.
      shot for the input.

      Phill

Leave a Reply

