Learning to say Thank You

27 Nov

Thank youMy son still has a long way to go before he can read on his own or even have a two way conversation that goes past 3 or 4 broken sentences. yet there are some words and phrases that can be taught that go beyond the word or words themselves. But that makes it even harder.
Please and Thank You come to mine, not only because they are polite but also because they infer respect to another party. That is what makes it hard for a toddler to understand.
Kids grow up taught to be self-centered then we complain about their attitudes when they are teenagers. From bum gel to hair gel kids kids are indoctrinated that it is all about them. A bit hard to avoid as a doting parent where your child is the whole world.
In order for us to teach our children not to be self-centered we need to start early with Thank you and Please.
But the question is how? Apart from repeating the phrase all the time, how does one show the concept?
[Photo by: vernhart]

8 Responses to “Learning to say Thank You”

  1. weaselmomma November 27, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    You teach your children the concept by example. Let them see you doing things and giving your time and efforts for other people and tell them why. Very soon they will imitate that behavior. My 5 year old wants to leave toys out along with cookies and milk for Santa this year, just to say thank you for all that he does for others.

    • Phillip Gibb November 27, 2009 at 2:26 pm #

      🙂
      Everything by example indeed – the good and the bad, just like that video I linked to in the previous post – Children see, Children do.
      Christmas this year is going to be interesting and an opportunity to teach my son the value in saying Thank You, or he might be blown away to much.

  2. BellaDaddy November 27, 2009 at 4:21 pm #

    OOPS, posted my comment on an incorrect post…

    As I look back now, I honestly cannot remember when it kicked in…but our 3 year old says please and thank you, at the appropriate times…and I believe it is just her absorbtion skills…she learned on her own…

    And thank you! Love your blog!

    Kudos!

  3. Mocha Dad November 27, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    I say please and thank you to my children and try to display my gratitude at all times. I’m not always consistent, but I’ve managed to teach them a few things about being thankful.

    • Phillip Gibb November 28, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

      yeah – all about setting the example

  4. Reservoir Dad November 29, 2009 at 11:01 pm #

    I stick to ‘the broken record’ for manners – just reminding them every time it’s appropriate to say please and thank you and eventually they get it.

    • Phillip Gibb November 30, 2009 at 4:00 am #

      Yeah, I suppose in few years I’ll find myself saying “if I have told you once, I have told you a 1000 times”

Leave a Reply

