Scared out of my skin, my son choking

24 Jan

This is the first time something like this has happened to Stephen. When I heard Kathy calling my name in a panic I ran down the passage shouting “What, What, What, What”. Stephen had been chocking on a piece of sweet Mellon that Kathy had managed to dislodge with a few pats on the back. I remember the fear that filled my mind when I entered the room and saw my son’s teary eyes full of panic – I thought what if it is still stuck, what if I can’t get it out? I am not sure if I offered much of a sense of security to Stephen because his eyes were just mirrored back in mine. When I realize that the worst was over I just held him, it was all I could do.

But what can one do when this happens (from The Red Cross – How to deal with choking):

  1. Give up to 5 back blows between the shoulder blades with the heel of your hand.
  2. Check the mouth quickly after each one and remove any obvious obstruction.
  3. If the obstruction is still present give up to 5 abdominal thrusts. Place a clenched fist between the navel and the bottom of the breast bone and pull inwards and upwards. Check the mouth quickly after each one. If the obstruction does not clear after three cycles of back blows and abdominal thrusts, dial your emergency number.
  4. Continue cycles of back blows and abdominal thrusts until help arrives and resuscitate if necessary.
Leave a Reply

