and Dads are just for Fun

16 Mar


This morning my son slid off the bed and banged his mouth. There was blood and much tears. Stephen did not want anything to do with me. I wanted to comfort him, but nooo; “I want Mommy”.
Then Kathy said something that just nailed it:
Dads are just for Fun
Ok, so this a complete and utter over simplification. Yet it is true. I am fun; I run around like a lunatic, spin around, jump, throw, fall down and make stupid sounds – all with or without my son.
Hmmm, will I also be fun to my Daughter? or might she call me when she is hurt

5 Responses to “and Dads are just for Fun”

  1. Kathy March 17, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Mmmm- I promise not to talk from now on! I didn’t mean it to sound and be remembered that way. You are a great Dad, and not just to play with. At the moment though, you are the fun one! You play ball, hide and seek, run around like a lunatic and Stephen LOVES every second of it. Even bath time is fun. I am get in and get out. You make sure the entire floor is covered with water. I think the older he gets, the more the tables will turn. He’ll confide in you more and be way more interested in what you have to say than me. I know he loves you to the moon and back- he tells you enough times lately! I think when JellyBean arrives, she’ll probably only be interested in you and won’t have the time of day for her mother! Then I’ll really understand what it feels like!

    • Phillip Gibb March 17, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

      🙂
      please don’t – I like your voice

  2. Ron March 17, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    We don’t experience it that way. CJ usually wants the person who was not around when she got hurt. It’s like it was somehow their fault that they were hurt and so she whats the other parent.

  3. Fiona March 17, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Hey don,t kid yourself the kid always wants the mom when hurt they just give better squishy hugs. Dads are good for other things like taking things apart and financial advice ha ha. You cant both be everything, there are 2 of you for a reason

Leave a Reply

